Signing off for a second time

And I’ve made it through the course! I don’t feel like I learned as much this semester as I did in CSC165, but the number of lectures I skipped might have something to do with that. And the number of labs I missed (and still need to catch up on) definitely has something to do with that. It’s a shame those were cancelled. They’re the only reason I managed to keep up with the course material. Now there are gaping holes I’ll need to fill in before the exam, though I think reviewing the sorting algorithms and completing option B of the third assignment will take care of most of them.

Assignments taught me a lot. The last one nearly killed me because pruning is really hard, apparently, even though it was described in immense detail and the algorithm was broken down for us on the assignment handout. I think I spent a total of nearly 24 hours struggling with pruning alone, which is kind of ridiculous, but I think I finally (sort of) understand it now. It would be nice to have done more with optimization and sorting algorithms this semester since we’ve really only just scratched the surface, but the amount of time we spent on trees and recursion means we did learn some things thoroughly.

The main thing this course has done for me though is getting me excited about what I’ll be learning next year. Second year should be fun. I’m already really looking forward to it.

Just have to get through finals first. One month til the exam! One month to start studying! This will go splendidly.

2 thoughts on “Signing off for a second time

  1. Best of luck to you!! I do hope you will keep writing even after this course; I’ve had quite a few laughs from reading your posts and I thank you for those laughs! They were much appreciated 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment